How to clean engine?

methodical

Established Member
I have looked at other threads, and I was wondering how can I go about cleaning the motor, without having to use the water hose? With all of the electrical components, and worrying about water getting into any places where it's not supposed to be. I just don't like the fact of using the hose directly on the motor...Please any advice would be greatly appreciated.

GeoSnake

Mustang Week Staff
Established Member
I've been detailing cars for over 12 years now and there is no better way to clean your engine bay than w/ water. The absolute best results I've seen have come by using CD-2's Engine Detailing Kit. CD-2 makes other engine additives that I don't use, but this kit works great! It comes w/ two cans, one a cleaner and the other the detailing/shine spray. My best advice is to follow the direction on the cans for best results. The only thing I do different is I have my compressor ready to blow the excess moisture off the electrical components after washing. I've never had any problems.

methodical

Established Member
How to clean engine??

I trust that you know your stuff when it comes to detailing engines for 12 years. The question still remains...What do I have to cover on the engine...and should I use deionized water for the engine bay....to prevent rust. Is there something else that I could use besides water? I am just worried about water ending up in the wrong places..or rusting some parts!! I have never cleaned the engine bay on my 04 Cobra..This will be the 1st time...just alittle worried about the water. Besides the 03-04 Cobra bay is complicated alot of electrical items...Remember this is a $40,000 car...cheap by no means...expensive if you phuck it up

GeoSnake

Mustang Week Staff
Established Member