High HP Stick Shift Drag Radial Discussion

98 Saleen Cobra

Established Member
Well I figured this would be the most appropriate place for this..

Right now I'm at 890rwhp 680rwtq on my car. It's a six speed car. I have a SRA etc etc. Built to handle whatever I want, and the suspension to support whatever I want. (just need a cage lol)

I'm running a 315/30/18 Hoosier drag radial on my HRE's and I've done quite well with it imo, given that this is my first time ever drag racing.

I'm looking at switching to a 15" rear wheel but I want to keep a radial tire. Mainly for now because I can't do the front setup just yet. I've been looking at the Hoosier DR in a 325/50/15. I should be able to drop the hammer quicker vise slipping it and I won't lose my MPH and I'll be able to keep my front wheel setup for now.

Has any one had any luck running this tire in a High HP stick shift car? I did a ton of searching last night and I can't find to much. I was going to run a MT ET drag 26x10 Stiff wall with a tube, but figured I would try out the radial and see how it works.

I have the MPH to go 9's on the 18" setup I have now and that's the goal before I switch the rears out.

Thanks for any advice or insight.

ShootyMCstabby

Brownie Hound.
Established Member
I have no experience with the Hoosier DR's. So I can't help you there.
But I have ran a M/T et street R(20psi). Put over 1000 miles on them this year. And they still look and work great.

Like I said before I have to really try and spin them. I haven't lost a race this year do to loss of traction with the 275/60/15.

03 Cobra DSG

Established Member
I have around 720/610 at the wheels and I still haven’t got my suspension dialed in just right yet but I have MT ET street SS in 275/50/15 and my last pass at the track dead hooked dropping the clutch at 4200 and bogged a little bit so I’m gonna try to dump it at 4800-5000 and see what happens but for a radial those tires are great i run around 18psi