Help me pick an upper pulley

myslowstang

Established Member
I've been accumulating parts for the last 6 months and I've finally started to modding the Cobra. It started off mostly stock, the only mod that was done was a 2.8" upper pulley. Now things are changing...

The new parts:

MAC long tube headers (now installed)
MAC o/r h-pipe (now installed)
MAC catback (now installed)
JLT next generation high boost intake
Accufab TB
BA3000 MAF
60# injectors
BAP
SFC (now installed)
IRS brace
Coilover kit (now installed)

I'm getting around to putting everything else together before I get my car tuned. I'll also be doing a home port job on the blower and changing the upper pulley. My question is which pulley would you guys recommend with my setup? I was planning on going with a RR 2.65 upper pulley with a 100mm idler but I've heard mixed reviews on the RR upper pulleys. Maybe go to a BilletFlow 2.76"? I don't really want to go to a lower pulley. What do you guys think?

Last edited:

myslowstang

Established Member
Here's a few pics when I installed the headers. It look longer then I was planning lol

IMG_1722.jpg

IMG_1731.jpg

IMG_1762.jpg

IMG_1764.jpg

Grimster

Established Member
you wont see a significant difference going from 2.8 down to a 2.76.

Why are you against a lower pulley? From what Ive read here, that is what really makes the ported eaton shine (especially in the torque numbers!)

myslowstang

Established Member
I don't want to do a lower pulley mainly because of cost. Lower pulley + alternator pulley + belt + I'd still like to get an idler pulley... stuff added up very quickly. If I go to a 2.65" pulley with an idler I can use the same belt (currently running 2.8" with no idler pulley) and save a little bit in cost. A lower pulley alone will cost more then a new upper and an idler.

myslowstang

Established Member