Gran Torino project?

bmxr152

SvT 4 LiFE
Established Member
So im thinking about picking up a 1972 Gran Torino for a project. The guy only want $900 for it and says it runs. He said it has a v8, but is unsure if its a 351, or 302. Im going to look at it tomarrow. From the outside it looks fairly clean. Anyways what do you guys think? Im not big time money maker, im a starving student:whine: so dont bash me to much.

SublimeRT

'94 Slooowbraa
Established Member
Well if you've never had an old car as a project, just be aware that things can snowball REAL fast. And since they've been around for 30+ years and usually many different owners, they're always full of surprises. I've seen some things in old cars I was taking apart that made my jaw hit the floor. In the end though I think they're worth it - the whole experience of owning/restoring/cruising/showing/racing an old car of that era is like nothing else. You will learn so much and pick up some great skills along the way. It is an expensive hobby though. More than these Mustangs we mess with. Sometimes it is very difficult to find parts for them, and when you do you'll have to pay an arm and a leg for them. You'll also meet some really good people along the way. The groups of people that are into them seem much more tightly knit than most.

Good luck if you get it and if you do, post pics and keep us updated with progress on it. Those Torinos are good looking cars.

SublimeRT

'94 Slooowbraa
Established Member
Just to give you an idea of how bad things can snowball.........this is a '70 Challenger I did. The car looked pretty decent from 10-15 ft. Hell, even up close, didn't look too shabby. A little bit of rust bubbles here and there.

This is kinda a crappy picture, but you get the idea. This was pretty much as I bought it. I added the wheels, but it looks alright, eh?