Glasses

knight 64

SVT Power
Established Member
My old stubborn pride has finally reached the end. I have the computer screen at 150 magnification. I use to be a 20-20 vision guy who enjoyed shooting sports, did quite well with clay, birds, rabbits etc. I just received a bunch of great books for Christmas. My arms are no longer long enough. How much for a good eye exam and glasses. I went the reading glass route and continually lose and break them. Can an old dog like me adjust to putting contacts in? Thanks for your advice.

pho_phizzat

Dapper as ****
Established Member
I was paranoid about sticking my fingers in my eyes. After about 2 weeks it was no problem to throw in contacts and be on my way. Been that way for about 8 years now.

Chosyn1

I'm your Huckleberry
Established Member
i've been wearing contacts for about 14 years now(though i'm only 26)..like Pho said, it's just the first couple of weeks that are bad, then it's routine. my father-in-law wears them (55) hasn't had any issues. just have patience and you'll get it.

Huddleston

The Sawed Off Scott Gun
Established Member
youll get used to contacts over a few weeks. if not glasses aren't the end of the world. you might even get compliments on them!

oldmodman

Established Member
I have worn glasses since I was around eight years old.

And they have saved my eyes many times.

Since I wear them all the time the welding spatter, wires flying off of wire wheels and so on have hit the lenses and not my eyes.

Para81

Established Member
I don't know anything about disqualifying pre existing condtions. What I do know is if you want to do it make sure you do it OUTSIDE of the USA. I understand that many people in the US pay around 6-10k for Lasik.

I did Lasik in 2010 and it cost me 1,523.00 dollars total. I went to a top facility in Bangkok while I was living there and have had 20/20 vision ever since.