Frustrated with Enthusiast Vehicle Market.

Corbic

Established Member
Premium Member
So, I'm just frustrated.

I graduated HS at the dawn of the millennium and by that time the vintage Muscle Car market had exploded. I remember many friends with father's and uncles who had piles of old Mopar or Chevy stuff they picked up for cheap in the 80's and 90's. $1500 for a clean Duster, $5k for a 318 Barracuda, etc.

By then, it was unobtainable. I got into 80's and 90's cars instead. Much of that too was just out of reach. Typical cars being in the high-teens. 3.0 and 3.2 Carreras were around $15k. Turbo FC3S for $10k, FDs for $18k and even the vaunted MKIV Supra could be had for under $30k.

Here we are 20 years later, I'm finally making big bucks and everything has gone up 5x.

I once dreamed of having a collection of cool JDM and Euro machines. In 2008 I could have had nearly that with $40k. Now $40k doesn't even buy one of the 80/90s big sports cars, let alone 3-5 like it did 15 years ago.

So I'm like, OKAY. Missed that ship, just like a dude finally hitting his prime in 2005 would have missed the classic Muscle Car bargains of the 80's and 90's.

But....

Unlike 2005, where we had tons of cheap awesome 80's and 90's cars... What the **** do we have now?

Early 2000's cars (Cobra, STi, Evo, 350Z, C6, E46 M3, etc) have all jumped significantly in price. There are no options for chump change like a $2,500 240SX, $4k GSX, $6k M3 E36 was in 2005.

R35's S197s, GT500, Vipers, Hellcats, Scatpacks etc all basically appreciated. Same with water-cooled Porsches. I was just starting to see 996's dipping into the teens ans boom, shits back in the +Mid 20's.

Like, bruh. Jesus Christ this is bullshit.

BOOGIE MAN

Logic and Reason
Established Member
Youtube link not work safe for language

So by "bug bucks" are we talking.....upper 6 figures?