Engine Randomly Shuts Off

DSGNator

Established Member
So I've owned my 2003 Cobra now for about 7 months. In that time I've had the engine randomly shut off while driving maybe 6 times. The only thing that seems common to each shut off was that I had the clutch pushed all the way in and I was coasting into a parking lot or around a turn or something similar. A few days ago I started practicing my launches from a stop. I actually only did it once. I launched from about 5000rpm which I now realize was a bit to high. (Please save the ridicule, I'm not claiming to be a racer here, just something I'd like to learn how to do.) Needless to say my tires spun like crazy. I kept shifting and driving the way I'd assume anyone would race down a strip. My rpms did stay pretty high but I made sure that I wasn't at full throttle once I got into 5th. (I hear that's bad juju.) After the run, the very first turn I took as I had my clutch pushed in, the engine shut off. (Whenever this happens I've always been able to start it back up immediately.) I kept cruising around town and it shut off 2 more times within the next 30 minutes. It never happened again after that. I actually drove the car 80 miles to my home that evening and didn't experience any issues. Thankfully this isn't something that happens frequently, but when it does it's a little scary because I loose power steering and what not. But I think you'd all understand that this is an issue I'd like to get fixed.