E85 guys in here please.

SNK-BITE

Established Member
I am new to this E85 magic. What do you guys do when you get a higher blend of fuel than what your tuned for? Stay out of boost an run it out of the tank and go back to your preferred store? For instance I was tuned on E74, filled up today at a new store that tested to E87, current A/F is now 12.3-12.5. Even on E85 I am not comfortable running hard with that A/F.

c6zhombre

E85 NutSwinger
Established Member
Not saying it's ideal AF...but you're not even close to detonating at 12.5 AF on E85. What AF were you tuned at on the E74?

SNK-BITE

Established Member
Cool. Thanks. My tuner is sending me an update for this E87. So im just gonna keep the current tune for the E70's blend so im covered on both ends.

roy_1031

roy1031
Established Member
I am new to this E85 magic. What do you guys do when you get a higher blend of fuel than what your tuned for? Stay out of boost an run it out of the tank and go back to your preferred store? For instance I was tuned on E74, filled up today at a new store that tested to E87, current A/F is now 12.3-12.5. Even on E85 I am not comfortable running hard with that A/F.

I don't know much about e85 or tuning but would my question is, wouldn't e87 be better than e74? As in safer. It's richer isn't it?

cj428mach

Established Member
Most guys say you should tune for e85 then anything less and you go rich. Then you don't have much to worry about. 04sleeper told me if you tune on e85 then you should be safe down to about e50 before you start losing the detonation suppression of ethanol.

turboeverything

Established Member
Fix the tune to .75-.8 with e85 then when you happen to hit a batch of e70 it's no big just be richer than normal..

Jensanity

Established Member