DSLR crew, advice needed

nate

Established Member
I'm looking to buy a nice camera for my wife for Christmas. Mostly for family pictures, but would see some business use for real estate and special events. A wide angle lens is a must for getting good interior shots of homes, and I'd like the ability to shoot decent video. Other than that, I am clueless. My max budget is around $450-$500 since we are both complete beginners with a camera that doesn't have a phone attached to the front of it. I know $500 doesn't seem like a lot for some of the elite crew, but we really don't want to spend more until we know if we are even going to use a quality camera for all its worth. I've found a couple of packages on sale for Black Friday, but have no idea if they are good deals or have a bunch of crap I won't need or is just junk.
Here are the two I've been looking at
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Nikon-D31...Wide-2.5x-Telephoto-Lenses-Filter-Tr/39612791

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/nikon-d...&cmp=RMX&ky=28nQAhv5JSh2r2ipkPLhCTBuU5ZyvwcE9

Any help is appreciated.

Explosive

Established Member
Also curious, have thought of getting one for some time and black Friday wouldn't be a bad time.

lobra97

PIITB since 1984
Established Member
b&h photo, fredmiranda.com too has a lot of good deals too, so does slick deals as mentioned above. i bought a useD d90, 50mm, bag, filters, extreme mem card, etc for $500. then again i sold my other stuff for the difference on it lol.

nate

Established Member
I've made a habit of watching slickdeals for a few years. Problem is I have no idea what is considered a good deal or just something that was marked up before black friday and marked down to help clear inventory to people shopping based off how much they "think" they are saving.

lobra97

PIITB since 1984
Established Member