Drag Racing Tire/Wheel - sanity check

Grimster

Established Member
Ok, so I'm relatively new to drag racing tires and whatnot, so I've been searching the forums quite a bit. I *think* I have what I need figured out, but wanted to make sure it was the correct school of thought before I start purchasing things.

So I currently have an 03 cobra with stock suspension (except for IRS brace and FLSFC's) , stock 3.55 gears and have it mildy modded. I've read many times over that using a bias-ply slick will help maintain my rear end from breaking as well as help with my wheel hop because the soft sidewall absorb most of the shock from the "hit" at the start of the drag race.

I've also read that a 16" wheel is the smallest you can go with our IRS and rear brake setup. You CAN go 15", which would open up more wheel/tire choices, but at the expense of having to grind some material away from the tierod to make it all fit. I don't want to do that, so 16" it is. I also know that the wider the better. From what I understand, the older Mustang GT rims are 16x8 or 16x7.5 which will work if you can find them. I can't find any on my local craigslist or in the immediate area.

I've found these 16x8 cobra rims on American Muscle :

Silver 1995 Cobra R Wheels (1999-2004) at AmericanMuscle.com - Free Shipping!

I found these 16x8 or 16x10 from diamond racing :

DIAMOND RACING WHEELS

unsure if any of the rims listed above would need any back spacers, also not sure if that makes a difference based on the tire you are sticking on it (again, Im a noob).

So I want to buy a set of 2 rims that I can have some bias-ply slicks on just for track use. And in the off chance that I can't swap out the wheels at the track, I'd like to be able to drive to the track with them on. So I believe that leaves me with either Mickey Thompson ET Street's or Hoosier Pro D.O.T.'s.

Mickey Thompson Performance Tires & Wheels

Hoosier Quick Time Pro D.O.T. Drag Tires - JEGS