Daily Driver Ideas

JMoraru

Established Member
I'm getting fed up with how much I spend monthly in gas ($400++) and get 13-17mpg(usually on the lower side). Not to mention driving my car in traffic is a pain in the ass.

My first idea was get a cheap(ish) daily that gets really get MPG. However, I think it would take a while for the car to pay for itself. I also dont know how I like the idea of driving a cheaper car most of the time and driving the stang on occasion, which i have been DDing for 6 years now.

My other idea was to get rid of the stang for a DD....probably a sedan for more room and my daughter. I was thinking of staying below $30k if I were to do this, but I am having trouble finding anything good on gas that I wont get bored with after a few months. Dont get me wrong, I dont expect it to be as fast as the mustang(450+rwhp), but I want something that isnt bland either.

So, any ideas? What cars are fun for enthusiasts, but decent on gas? I test drove a certified 335i sedan and really liked it, but its pushing the budget and not really saving me any money. I wont touch one without the warranty.

Some cars look good like the 2013 Fusion or new Passat, but i feel like i would hate a slow FWD car after a short time.

Last edited:

mysterio

Established Member
Focus ST. It's got 4 doors, a hatch for storage space, and is fun as hell to drive, especially when in the boost. I'm averaging 24.3 mpg, in summer with a/c, and most of that is around town driving.

kevinatfms

Ex-Ford/Kia/Hyundai Tech
Established Member
Premium Member
sonata turbo or optima turbo. 270+hp, manual option and 4 big doors....

or

buick regal turbo with the brembo's, manual and 2.0L turbo 270+hp car.

Sick03Vert

Banned
sonata turbo or optima turbo. 270+hp, manual option and 4 big doors....

or

buick regal turbo with the brembo's, manual and 2.0L turbo 270+hp car.