Clutch Fork Keeps popping off the pivot ball

Finaltheorem47

I'm a Lead Farmer
Established Member
Hi guys, happened once, replaced the clutch, pivot ball, pilot bearing, TOB, and fork and about 1 month later it popped off again. Any clues as to why it keeps doing this?

kxt

atomic number 30
Established Member
evidently you're jamming gears like a madman :beer:

3B99SVT

Top down makes me smile
Established Member
Do you side-step your clutch? How much play do you have in your clutch cable? When you installed the replacement fork, are you sure both fingers of the spring went behind the pivot ball? If you are careful, you can slide it back on w/o removing the tranny. Since you've already replaced it, you know it slides on from the side.

Rusty67

Established Member
I can't see any reason for this to happen under normal conditions. Things that come to mind off the top of my head are that the fork wasn't siting right on the pivot stud in the first place or that the cable was not adjusted/installed properly and pulled the fork in a funny direction until it wore out the spring. The only other thing I can think of is that the bell housing is damaged and the pivot stud is loose in the created some sort of play and the fork eventually pops off. If the problem is the bell housing you can provably just put a helicoil in the hole and put it all back together unless the damage is really bad.

I don't think there is any getting around having to take it apart to look.

Finaltheorem47

I'm a Lead Farmer
Established Member
I finally got a chance to put it on a lift to replace the clutch cable and figure out what happened. As I suspected, the clutch fork keeps popping off the pivot ball. I can pop the fork back on the ball, but if I work it back and forth about 4-5 times, it inches off until it pops off.

I'll try to see if I can get a scope up there to inspect the fork/ball. Is a pivot ball/fork common enough for local part stores or dealerships to have on hand?

Last edited: