Building a Computer?

supachargd2k5

Established Member
Im thinking about building a tower pretty soon and i have some experience but i would like to know what route you guys would go with that are familiar with this. I dont really game that much but i want a pretty powerful system, i just need some ideas so i can know what to look for in purchasing which motherboard ect.

CalcVictim

Resident douchenozzle
Established Member
check specials on newegg.com

most bang for the buck right now is an Intel quadcore

Rob04SVT

Established Member
I've built about 10 towers for friends and myself, and have never had any problems with Asus hardware. So they get my full endorsement! (damn political season)

Otherwise, I'd recommend going SATA for your Hard Drive (its faster than IDE).

And make sure that your Processor, Motherboard, Power supply, and RAM are ALL compatible. I usually build from the processor up.

One other thing, +1 on newegg.com They're great, and have the best prices.

Other sites I've used are tigerdirect.com and zipzoomfly.com They're worth a cross check for pricing. :beer:

SpectorV

Established Member
Ive built a few and the hardest part is deciding on the parts to buy to build one with. Some like to spend a ton to get the best stuff out there. That is all well and good but they become out dated very fast. I like to buy good stuff but not the best, back it off a bit and get the next to the best or so forth.

If you do not plan to game (or play intensive high graphics games) then you really dont need a super fast computer. You can go Athlon or Intel (thats your choice) but Athlon is generally cheaper. I think if I built another one I would look into intel but thats just me.

I would look on www.extremeoverclocking.net they have a good bit of information on there.