best oil for a performance pushrod motor?

NJ2000R

Certified FORD Fanatic!
Established Member
I've asked 5 different people, and got 4 different answers....valvoline, mobil 1, royal purple (2) and castrol....

when I spoke to L&B about the motors they did for the GA 95R's (and my 93R) they said any decent brand 20-50 non-synthetic oil....just curious what everyone here runs? brand and weight....and any to avoid....

1993R

Established Member
I run Wal-Mart synthetic. Never had a problem I just change the oil frequently and use a good filter. The mod motors I heard need a different weight than push rods. I use 20w-50 at the track in the 93R. Maybe I'm just cheap but since I'm not a pro the extra few ponies you pick up from the real expensive synthetics are not worth the extra $$$. Plus I read a consumer reports on oils etc...My views changed after that. I run the Wal mart stuff in everything from tractors and mowers to my boat and daily driver. Go figure.

13 Cobra Toy

Need More Track...
Established Member
Round two ding... ding...

MOTUL 300V 5W40 sorry 4.6/5.4

:beer:

Last edited:

1995COBRA-R

20 Year Member
Established Member
Premium Member
NJ2000R said:
when I spoke to L&B about the motors they did for the GA 95R's (and my 93R) they said any decent brand 20-50 non-synthetic oil....just curious what everyone here runs? brand and weight....and any to avoid....
My engine builder recommended 20W50 (any good brand; mineral) for one weekend and then a switch to synthetic 15W50 Mobil 1 (early pushrod 302). After 29 race weekends (and a busted head gasket), I pulled the engine and he reported absolutely no bearing wear.