Best Bang For Buck Heat Exchanger? Also REALLY needed or No?

Blacksmoke

Established Member
Looking to cool down the temps for summers.
What is the best bang for buck heat exchanger for a
08 GT500?

I don't track and mods are pulley,CAI, and tune.

Is a heat exchanger absolutely needed if you have done these mods and
race the car maybe four times a yr just against buddies no track?
Total mileage a yr maybe 3-4k.

I do live in TX where it gets hot in summer.
I'm not as worried about heat soak as I am damage via excessive heat causing detonation....but I don't know what it would take to do such a thing.
I'm a newbie as far as knowledge on this.

Is this something that would be a bonus or again with how I use the car is it still pretty much really needed?

Also.. will I need a bigger tank if I get a heat exchanger?

Thanks!

Last edited:

zporta

KB INSIDE
Established Member
It's really not a best bang for the buck thing. They are all relatively close in price, but this is a mod where you don't want to skimp.

I wouldn't waste your time with a non-fan h/e. I know you say your not worried about heat soak. But why waste your money on something that could be upgraded in the future. Either save your money till you can do it right on use the money elsewhere.

I did all the cooling mods at once, it wasn't cheap but man did it cool the car off. I went with 170* thermostat, revan racing h/e and larger tank

Call Van, he will talk you through it.

VNMOUS1

Established Member
This isn't a matter of "keeping the car cooler" and its not like buying a bigger radiator.

The heat exchanger serves a single purpose ; cool the air charge as it applies to the intercooler.

The calibration in your car is set to begin pulling timing/spark at 110f downstream. Unless you're north of the Mason-Dixon, you have 10 months of the year when you'll eclipse 110 downstream by idling in your driveway.

At 150f you've lost a TON of power.