Automotive tools.

Go Down South

Established Member
Im an automotive student and I graduate in 2 weeks. Through my program, I can get awesome discounts through matco and snap on. I already have my box bought but im honestly a little overwhelmed with what tools I should buy as a beginner just getting into the field. I was hoping some of you guys could give me some suggestions.

NJ03SVTCobra

Addicted Open Tracker
Established Member
Im an automotive student and I graduate in 2 weeks. Through my program, I can get awesome discounts through matco and snap on. I already have my box bought but im honestly a little overwhelmed with what tools I should buy as a beginner just getting into the field. I was hoping some of you guys could give me some suggestions.

Do you go to Penn College?

Five-ohh-Love

Established Member
I would start out with the basic needed tools for an auto technician.
Get some-

Screw drivers
1/2 inch impact gun with sockets
1/4 3/8 and 1/2 inch ratchets with sockets
Open end wrenches
Pliers, needle nose, vise grips
A dead blow hammer
A basic OBDII scan tool

I could probably name a lot more but just have a talk with a salesman on a tool truck. They can be helpful at setting you up with the stuff you need. And even though you have a discount through Matco and Snapon, i highly suggest you buy basic stuff from Craftsman and Harbor Freight.

VRYALT3R3D

Show me your Members
Established Member
I would suggest buying a set of made in usa craftsman tools. While I like my Snap-On tools, if I didn't have the cash for them, I wouldn't have purchased them. Stick with Armstrong, Craftsman, or SK. IMO, new Snap-On is overpriced. If you really want Snap-On, buy used at over 40% off

Krwy

Established Member