Any project managers out there?

04owmach

Established Member
I have an interview tomorrow with a company for a project management position. Any one out there have any advice for me. I've been a Cnc machinist for a couple years since graduating and love my job but want somewhere where I can move up.

cobraetti

part of the zombie squad
Established Member
I am sure the field will change the outlook of this position a lot, but I work as a project manager for a mechanical contractor. I find the best way to go about it is tackle all issues immediately, organization is key. I often go home and think about "projects" all night long and different possible solutions its often a game of strategy and luck sometimes. The positive for me is I am always in the field doing the above which affords the opportunity to take care of things during the daytime when everyone else is at work. As far as my profession/trade it is defiantly a step upward from the rest of the positions the trade offers.

04owmach

Established Member
They do carbon fiber work for civilian and military aircraft. If you are starting a completely new project how do you plan what needs done first? Say it has 10 parts that are all needed for the finished piece. How do you guys figure out what needs done first if one part is not anymore important than another?

JBird_Cobra

Established Member
^^ Just lay out a basic schedule with durations and which pieces can be worked on concurrently. As long as you know what's going on and its done in an efficient manner everything should be great.

04owmach

Established Member
^^ Just lay out a basic schedule with durations and which pieces can be worked on concurrently. As long as you know what's going on and its done in an efficient manner everything should be great.