Any experience comparing Torco to VP Octanium?

Intervention302

Established Member
Hey guys,

I have been using Torco on and off now for 4 years for my 3.25" 21psi tune on my 2.9. I dont honestly run it that often. I actually bought the 5 gallon pail 3 years ago and have about 5 cans left for it. I'm "scared" to use it in fear of it being expired.

I am going down to OC Cruising Week this coming Monday and needed some Torco. Wouldn't ship in time for my trip this year. Luckily, my buddy has the local hookup down there so I am good.

I recently saw some VP Octanium for sale at Autozone for I think $20 per can. Bottle appears to claim about the same 80 or so points increase per can when compared to Torco. Would hate to use it one day and have it cost me my pistons!

Any thoughts? Anybody use this stuff yet?

Link to the product
http://www.evoperform.com/shop/inde...d=1526&zenid=64eac931139b12b76f6921a1c6fc4aa4

Riddick

MERICA
Established Member
There is also a product called Boostane that is very similar to these. I was hoping some people would have replied, I plan on adding a lower pulley soon and will be running one of these products on my pump gas tune.

I personally would only use these products as a safety cushion. What I mean by this I would not try to run a lot of timing or boost with these products. I only plan to run 19 psi with about 18 degrees of total timing in the car, im thinking 16 oz of one of these products per tank should give me plenty of safety margin in case I get a bad batch of good ol 93.

Quick Strike

Established Member
You will know it if it goes bad. It turns brown and has sediment in it. It also has a rancid smell. I had half a pail go bad. I still have it as I don't know what to do with it. Torco gave me the number for a toxic disposal service and they want several hundred bucks to get rid of it. Think I am going to have to burn it eventually.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Brutal Metal

Established Member