Any advice on starting a forum community? (for freelancers/consultants)

sn95leen

Established Member
I've decided to launch a forum for freelancers and consultants. I'm a web developer, so the software/hosting part of it is trivial. Getting the community started and growing is what I could use help with. My questions are as follows:

1. If you have experience running a forum, how did you get that initial spark of interest? Where did you find your early members?
  2. How did you advertise your forum in the beginning?
  3. How long did it take before the community became self sufficient?
  4. How bad was spam, and what did you do to help that?

If it matters ... I have a long history as a web developer. I'm still extremely passionate about what I do, even after 12 years. My motivation for starting a forum for freelancers and consultants comes from believing that starting your own business is one of the most fulfilling decisions you can make. I want to build a community where like-minded individuals can share thoughts, experiences, and opinions w/one another, as well as welcome new comers who have recently made the decision to start their own business. There really aren't many, if any, good forum resources for freelancers or consultants to turn to right now.

Last edited:

sn95leen

Established Member
Thanks, but the software side of things is already handled. I've edited my original post to include a link to the forum.

My primary questions are in regard to getting early membership going.

Jimmysidecarr

Semi user friendly
Established Member
Compelling relevant content.

List of the top ten motivational books you found to be most helpful to you.

These books should be considered a most read because.......

For each one.

Etc.
Got to give them a good reason to show up.

:beer:

BladeX10

Established Member