Another alternator going bad...

holiks03cobra

Established Member
I know our cars are known for killing alternators but 1 about every year is a little much. This one is acting a little different from my other failures. Still has 13-14 volts when driving but can't go wot(was done before I knew the alt was bad). At idle the volts fall to mid/low 12's and I have seen high 11's. The battery light comes on intermittently and even when the volts are good.
30762791_1677185688997048_5592458812834447360_n.jpg

31116789_1677185725663711_2490846535055572992_n.jpg

31073174_1677185752330375_5314439068593946624_n.jpg

*Jay*

Tweeker by trade
Established Member
Premium Member
Do yourself a favor and really check all your ground lines/straps from end to end and the mounting points on each side before you run your replacement alt. I've burned up 2 motorcraft and a third rebuilt motorcraft was on its way out before I upgraded to a Mechman. While doing the Big3 with the Mechman wire kit I found at least 2 ground lines cut, tucked, hidden or missing all together.

I can only assume that had something to do with my alts dying off as they did, the PO had a trunk mounted battery and I am guessing thats why everything was cut. If you stay with a Motorcraft alternator there is a nice threaded hole on the backside of the case to add a dedicated ground line too.

holiks03cobra

Established Member
Sounds like the voltage regulator is on its way out. When/if my current alternator goes out I'm going to drop the coin on a Nations.
Nations is the one I was gonna go with but don't want to put it on and burn it up in a year.