Air Bag Warning Light Stays On

SNAKEYE

Established Member
For what it worth, here’s a story of a situation that may be affecting others.

Three or four months ago a friend with a ’98 GT told me he had an “Air Bag” light come on, and stay on.

About a month or so ago he took it to a stealership, who, along with some other minor work, charged him over $300 and told him that some unspecified electrical connections were cleaned up to alleviate the problem. Two minutes after leaving the stealership the “Air Bag” light came on again. Somewhere in the whole deal my friend wound up with a large tube of silicon grease-type sealant ($$.$$) and was basically told to unplug everything (which presumably would clean the contacts within the plugs) and apply the sealant to prevent future occurrences.

This past weekend was the first chance we had to get together to go over things. In the meantime I studied the wiring diagrams and operation of the air bag light. Notably, the system runs self-diagnostics at each startup, and if something is found amiss it keeps the light on to get one’s attention to head on in for service (or lack of same in my friend’s case). Part of the circuitry of the air bag system depends on a ground connection at each of the two front primary crash sensors, which are located about a foot either side, up behind the Mustang in the grill opening. They look like black metal boxes, about 2” x 2” x 2”. I reviewed the physical arrangement of the wiring to the crash sensors on my Cobra (same setup on a GT) and found that the ground is not a wire (as is very common in these times of plastic everything), but, as in the good olde days, is made between the sensors’ bracket and the radiator cross-member by the screws that attach the sensors to the cross-member. I surmised something was corroded or loose on my friend’s GT.