Accepting another job out of state

mikecobra01

Established Member
Hello everyone,

I am a Automotive Technician, and I was recently contacted about a position that is available. The position is at a particular company that I have always wanted to work for since I was a teenager (currently in my early 30’s). The position is located in another state.

The big hurdle, is the fact that I am married. And my spouse most likely will not be willing to move out of state. That would leave me most likely living at a hotel, or possibly my own apartment, while working at the new company, and my spouse living in our current state.

As of now, I have not had this conversation with my spouse. I’m not really sure how to approach this situation, knowing that it will most likely not head in the direction I would want. My question is, how would you guys handle this situation? Has anyone been, or currently in this situation? Has anyone worked in another state in which they reside in?

Thanks!

phils04gt

Established Member
I spent 7 months living in another state for a job away from wife. Went home for all holidays and whenever else I got an extended weekend. Was a job that I really wanted to continue doing but got tired of being away from the wife and the rest of my family, so i took a different job to get back home. In the end, to me, life is short and nothing is more important than family. A job is just that, a job. Just my opinion.

Corbic

Established Member
Premium Member
How far are these states? 3 hour drive or 3 hour flight?

Trying to do the out of town work will only lead to marriage problems.

"You're never around, that stupid job, you don't care about you're family, what are you doing I bet your at the bar", etc etc etc

Last edited:

Machdup1

Established Member
One of three things will happen:

You have a strong relationship that will survive a long distance relationship.

You thought you had a strong relationship, but a long distance relation will destroy it.