4.10 Gears to much?

StewartJ23

Established Member
Hey guys I'm considering putting 4.10s into my 03' but I'm fairly new to mods so just trying to get some information from the professionals. I've heard a few things about these, it seems like everyone who has them loves them but I have read that it is to much torque, I had a buddy with an 04' and his differential exploded because of the torque. Should I buy anything with these 4.10s to help support the torque or reduce the risk of this happening to me? I guess I rally just wanna know if the 4.10s will cause a lot of issues for me? Also I have heard that 4.10s will reduce engine life dramatically, any truth to that or? Any guidance would be greatly appreciated, Thanks!

cobracide

Established Member
Why do you want 4.10's? Are you drag racing at the track? Mods? How tall are your tires? 4.10s should remotely near the top of a typical mods list. You need to beef up the drivetrain. The mod list is make all the time, look around.

Last edited:

StewartJ23

Established Member
No, just street racing, but I heard the Torque is awesome with it! So far h&r lowering springs, JLT CAI, 2.76 pulley w/idler thats it right now still a working progress.

Last edited:

tedster429

Established Member
If it were an auto car I would say hell yeah 4:10s all the way. I would stick with your 3:55 0r go 3:73 if you really had to. If your going to be on the tracvk all the time you can run them but if its a dd or driven alot then there just going to be annoying considering I used to have them in my 04gt back in the day. Now with the breaking issue, if your launching the car hard there is always a chance so build the rear or do a 8.8 swap and some 31 spline axles.

Ironhand

Banned
If it's just for street racing then leave the 3.55s in. It'll give you more time in gear and help with your top end pull. Not to mention help you get traction.

StewartJ23

Established Member