14.7 on WOT or something lower like 12.5?

Finaltheorem47

I'm a Lead Farmer
Established Member
Engines run best at 14.7:1 - whether it is under boost or not.

In the past, lower AF ratios under boost used excessive fuel as a detonation control - the additional fuel acts in the same way that water spray does - it cools the incoming charge.

It's a band-aid fix, in my opinion, to run excessively rich. Detonation control starts with the engines cooling system - to the way it was built - cam specs - etc etc etc.

Gonna have to get back to a meth/water spray here again (me = broken record). It will work for you.

Guy is on my Jeep forum. He makes a lot of sense and has been very successful with his turbo projects. I know hes injecting a 7:1 ratio of meth/water to his fuel at WOT under boost also.

So I was wondering, do you guys agree with him? I see most guys get tunes for around 12.5:1 at wot.

tommygun

Established Member
NEVER 14.7:1 under boost unless you want to destroy your engine

cruising down the hwy is fine but once you tip in it needs to lower into the 12.5 range, even with meth injection.

Finaltheorem47

I'm a Lead Farmer
Established Member
The guy is a moron, plain and simple.

This comment is pointless.

12.5 is lean even, i would want below 12....... N/A cars can get away with 13 and up, but boosted cars have to be lower or else the lack of fuel will cause your cylinders to overheat and cause damage.

He says that with his water/meth injection though, he doesn't have to run it rich and worry about over heating because the water/meth does the job of the extra fuel for him. So still he makes sense, give me a more detailed reason! lol, sorry just want to know the theory.

Also pointless, instead of just "knowing" that he is wrong and that it must be richer, I'd like to know why, because he makes a point and I'd like to know what makes him wrong.

unit213

Bone Stock
Established Member
This comment is pointless.