working as an insurance agent

badass98vert

Established Member
im thinking about getting into this field of work and was wanting to hear from ppl that do this. i was actually looking at working for farmers but i really dont know as much as i would like to. the commission sales thing worries me a little but is it a good thing with a company like that? any input on this would be great.

Sonic605hp

Resident Prick.
Established Member
I worked for AON Corp. for 4 years as both a rep and a sales manager. I would NEVER go back; the insurance industry is super shady and a lot of people get ripped off and there are a ton of liars.....I now work in the copier/printer industry and never looked back.

VENOM1

6.0MAN
Established Member
If you have never worked in a commission position before I would suggest getting into a brokers office. Majority of the larger brokers will offer you great hands on training along with a guaranteed income for a set amount of time. The insurance business is a great business to be in. There is a TON of money to be made, but as stated earlier there are low life's, as in any sales job that can give it a bad name. Furthermore residual income is THE BEST income there is to offer.

I sold insurance under a broker for about 2 years. The firm that I worked for put me on a set minimum salary for 90 days to ensure that I could get up and running. Honestly, to start making decent money 90 days isn't enough time. Make sure that you have a good amount of reserve income before making this leap. Also, if you do go to work for a broker remember that majority of the time always keep a portion of your renewals. If you have any other questions PM me and your convenience.

Hmbre97

Eaton powered
Established Member