Who knows about car audio installations???

sikwitit36

Banned
Allright im not too good at this stuff. I got the whole system set up but the remote wire for the amp. This needs to go to an ignition source. I know that. The question is where is the best place for it. Ive always known the easy way but never done it and that is to go through the cigarette lighter socket. but since it runs constant power that means my amp will always be turned on right? any other suggestions where i can tap it into where i dont have to pull a bunch of crap apart? Whoever has 03 or newer Mazda 6 in here who knows about this cars setup please help me out. I checked on the cig lighter route and theres two wires. one brown and the other white i think. which one of these do i tap into if i go this way? And I can just do a direct tap from the amp to the cig lighter wire right?

djc

Professional Nerd
Established Member
Why would you want your amp on all the time?

You haven't stated if you replaced the head unit. If you did, it should have a remote wire just for this purpose.

If not, a power antenna lead will work. Most head units have this. Any other switchable source will work. It's been a while, but generally yellow means switched, red is constant.

203Cree

Established Member
Yeah, the easiest way would be to wire it into your remote wire on your head unit, as that will power it up with the unit instead of all the time.

Of course, if this isn't an option, you could go the cig lighter route and put a toggle switch on it. I've had to that before.

NIT2WN

torque junky
Established Member
If it has a power antenna, tap into it. the antenna only goes up when the radio is on. If you used an after market head unit it should have a power antenna/ remote for amp wire. I know Pioneers do.

taintedme

Established Member
NIT2WN said: