Who here is USGBC LEED Certified?

PureStang

Established Member
Seeing as there are many engineers on this website, who here is a LEED GA or LEED AP?

I just applied for one of their online courses in order to qualify to sit for the GA exam. Figured that this would be a nice resume booster as well (and a few jobs I'm looking at, being a LEED GA or AP is a plus).

ThatsBAD06

Thread Killer
Established Member
I'm a LEED Green Associate... technically LEED GA isn't correct. I'm not an engineer but had relevant experience (GREEN designation from the National Association of Realtors)

The test can get quite technical and my advice is to not even bother with the study guide offered by the USGBC, it is virtually worthless as it just explains in brief the categories and doesn't get into specific credits.

I used LEED Test Preparation - LEED Practice Tests, LEED Training Classes, GBCI LEED CE Hours | GBES to get an online study guide, and found that all their resources were extremely helpful. In fact, I passed my first time taking the test with a score of 190/200!

*I feel it is important to note that I am a bit frustrated with the accreditation, as it is virtually worthless by itself. It demonstrates that you are familiar with the LEED process and should be able to help with LEED projects, but won't help you find a job or work on a LEED project because only LEED AP's can earn a point for a project. BUT if you want to continue on and become a LEED AP, then you'd have take the LEED Green Associate exam anyway, so you might as well do it to knock it out and get a better foundation to build on.

Ask away if you have anymore questions..

Fordx4

Established Member
In my opinion LEED is a waste of money. After studying it in school and then implementing it into three medical office buildings and one hospital it is not a good financial move. So much additional money is put into gaining additional LEED points to qualify for a higher certification.