Who here is a pilot?

only a gt

Established Member
Any SVTP members fly for a living? I got out of the Marines in August 2010, and I've been struggling to figure out what to do ever since. I've always wanted to be a F18 or Cobra pilot, but couldn't because of my terrible eyesight. In the back of my mind I've been kinda hoping that by the time I got a degree they will start allowing people that have gotten Lasik or PRK to fly, but as I get older my window of opportunity for that is shrinking. I'm contemplating quitting conventional college after this semester so that I can apply the remainder of my G.I. Bill benefits to becoming a helicopter pilot. If there are any commercial pilots here, especially helicopter pilots, I'd love to hear about it. :beer:

Matts00GT

Mongoloid Mike
Established Member
My buddy flies rotary for the Army and he has had PRK.

Also, unless you're flying intercontinental, the pay as an airline pilot can be pretty shitty.

only a gt

Established Member
I should have been more specific, I was only referring to Marine aviation. I don't have any interest in joining another branch.

I'm not looking to become a commercial airline pilot either, because that seems like driving a bus with wings to me. I think being a helo pilot would be much more interesting and challenging.

black92

Hot rod Lincoln
Established Member
We do have a member that is a Helo pilot. Can't think of his name, but he had an all black TT Cobra which he sold and picked up a C6 Vette.

FordSVTFan

Oh, the humanity of it all.
Established Member
I should have been more specific, I was only referring to Marine aviation. I don't have any interest in joining another branch.

I'm not looking to become a commercial airline pilot either, because that seems like driving a bus with wings to me. I think being a helo pilot would be much more interesting and challenging.

I am a pilot holding commerical, multi, and instrument ratings.