Who has gone from ProCal to intake/tune?

injfuel

broke parts again
Established Member
If you never get into the high Rpms why did you even switch your tunes ?? I'm sure you could get your tune tailored to your driving habits but most on here are after peak hp. It's nice to have that mid range torque feel but even though it doesn't feel different if you went up against any AED, BBR, Lund tuned car with your procal tuner you would see the difference real quick. Sounds like you don't race or go to the track so I would definetly go to the setup that makes you happy.

04nccobra

Established Member
So I just went out for a "spirited" drive. Here is what I found.

First, I have to say that I am a pretty conservative driver. I rarely ever get into the higher RPM's, and if I do it's rare. I think that was the problem here. I did some redline pulls in 2nd and 3rd, since 1st was useless. I have to say I never noticed the call pullng so hard in the peak RPMs. It actually was pretty cool.

That being said, I never really go to the peak RPMs. I guess that's where my initial disappointment came from. With the procal, I was so used to low-end grunt that when I switched over, I wasn't used to the throttle response on the new tune being different. But that can easily be changed.

One thing I did notice, is how loud the intake is. Like no joke loud. It's actually almost as loud as my Boss 302 side exhaust, and I don't like that. I don't want it drowning out my side pipes.

This was an informative adventure, but I think I am going to call it. Going to return my car to the way it was, set up as a comfortable DD. Gonna list the intake and tune as a combo. I just can't see the point (for me) of having the race parts on a car which will never see the track.

I appreciate all your guys' help. Sorry to bother.