Wheel spacers on 500 rwhp plus cobras

y2kpony

Established Member
I was at the Ford nationals this weekend and saw some terminators with wheel spacers on. I just put 315/35/17s on my cobra and an interested in this. I found 3/8" spacers that are hubcentric on lfp.com. They come with extended lug nuts and should go on my stock wheel studs. I would like to know some of you guys thoughts on these. I have a ported eaton but will upgrade down the road to a whipple and would be pushing 600. Maybe more if I go bigger whipple and run e85.:) I would like to keep this setup with my drag radials. I don't launch or drag race the car but do rip on it every now and then. Do you guys think I will have issues with the studs breaking or the spacer cracking or even the lugs stripping? I have no experience with extended lugs and am unsure. Or any other issues besides what I mentioned. I put a post in the suspension section but haven't heard from anyone yet so I thought I would try here. Just looking for some advice before I make a purchase. Thanks guys.

Marc

Established Member
I had the same size tires and wheel combo (R888s) on my near 700HP cobra with no extended studs. I guess if you raced it all the time at the track it would be a good idea. Like you I just ripped around town in it with no issues.

y2kpony

Established Member
Glad to hear you had no issues. It's the look I want. I was just worried about running a spacer with the stock studs and drag radials. Thanks for the reply. More would be great guys.

Blown38

Established Member
If you are worried about thread engagement they make nuts like these. Just make sure the shank will fit the ID of your wheels stud hole.
gor-68077_w.jpg

Comp281

Established Member
I have this setup. For street driving it is fine. If you plan to do 1/4 mile runs and hard launch the car, get the extended wheel studs so you don't risk snapping the stock ones.

y2kpony

Established Member