What tires to go with ?

Marvin9075

Established Member
Hey guys so recently bought a pretty nasty 03 cobra . Has a 3.0 whipple on E85 with over 700 Rwhp. Right now the car is sitting on 18x9 rovos wheels that I am not a fan of and I am looking into getting black deep dish 03 cobra wheels with a 17/10.5 on the Rear . My question is what tire do you guys recommend to use . This is a weekend car that never sees rain and the current 305/35 Mickey Thompson ET STREETS don’t hook very well . What do you guys recommend ? Should I just go all out and do some race stars with drag tires on the back . I am new to this power level so any pointers would be great

01yellercobra

Established Member
How do you use the car? I have Toyo R888R's and I'm happy with them. It still spins, but it's a controlled spin. And I can make some runs through the canyons when I want.

IllCobra

Established Member
I don't have experience with Mickey Thompson ET STREETS but I have read nothing but good stuff from others (unless I am confusing them with another Mickey Thompson tire). Could you possibly be running too much PSI? I am only making ~600whp and running R888 (not their new R888Rs) and from a 40 mph, I am able to hook when I am at 25 PSI. I don't hook well at all when I have them at 32 PSI.

Marvin9075

Established Member
Didn’t even think to check the tire pressure … been out of the game for a while lol … I am thinking about the R888s 313/35 cause I had good luck with them in my last cobra but it was only a ported Eaton

Bdubbs

u even lift bro?
Established Member
Premium Member
Running R888 in 305/35/18. Perfect tire.

Edit:. I keep tire pressure at 28 psi.
Sent from my moto g power (2021) using Tapatalk

Last edited:

Marvin9075

Established Member
How do you use the car? I have Toyo R888R's and I'm happy with them. It still spins, but it's a controlled spin. And I can make some runs through the canyons when I want.