What kind of Digital SLR combo to go with?

BlownVenom01

Boost > NA
Established Member
I'm on a budget so whatever I get has to be less than 600 dollars for the whole kit (body and lens). I can get a Nikon D40 or Eos XS for around 450-480 or take a step up and push my budget with a D60 or Eos XSi, but i have little experience with any of them.

I probably wont expand to much more expensive lenses and such, just casual photography and processing. Anyone have any input?

BlownVenom01

Boost > NA
Established Member
i figure for the 100 dollar diff i might as well get the clearly better one, but besides that the only difference I can tell is the nikon looks better, like less plastic. Thats a stupid thing to base it on lol

HYBRED

That Just Happened
Established Member
I went with a Canon because I do a lot of action/racing shots, and the Canon was faster...but it was close for me between the Canon and Nikon cameras.

Grizzly Adams

Resident Hippie
Established Member
When looking into this same topic, I found out that the pictures you are going to produce on a D60 as compared to a D40 are almost negligible, especially as a beginner. The extra hundred that could go toward upgrading to a D60 could be better spent on a good tripod or lens. Its also not likely that when you decide to upgrade to a better camera that you are going to only go up to a D60 so it isn't like you are wasting the money by not upgrading now.

BlownVenom01

Boost > NA
Established Member
I just don't want to buy the d40 and be disappointed with features and stuff when I could have paid the extra 100 (a very negligable difference). I looked into reviews on CNet and other sites and overall it seems like the Canon XSi actually does take better pictures than the D60 (canon got a 7.8 while nikon got a 7.2) and the D40 is meant to be a transition camera from point-and-shoot and SLRs.