What is a good 1st Gun

Junk_in_Trunk

Established Member
I live in California, just as a heads up.

I can't decide what to get - a rifle or a shotgun, maybe a handgun.

I have always wanted an M4, but I want something really reliable like an M1A (socom 16 maybe). Something I can go shooting with, use for protection, and if the world ends use for hunting :shrug:

I also would really love an 8 shot automatic shotgun - like a Benelli M3. :banana:

I know a little about guns but I am not an expert. I was wondering what you guys like, and what you think would be the best way to go.

Also my Father said he would get the gun for me - so I would feel bad getting something as expensive as the Benelli or Socom.

Any help is would be greatly appreciated :beer:

9A Pilot

durability tester
Established Member
Are you a resident of Florida?
If so..Your firearm purchase will be much more pleasant there..You also get more ammo capacity for whatever it is you buy. A concealed weapons permit is also doable..In LA,it's next to impossible.
That may not be an issue if all you want is a long gun..Have you considered a Mini 14?
It's a smaller version of an M14,fuctionally identical & chambered in .223.
They also are 1/2 the price of a good M14...Plus,they sell them at Wal Mart.

306Stang

Established Member
shotgun- franchi i12 NO QUESTIONS . . . DO IT

rifle- depends on what you want to shoot. .223, 30-06, 273, 7 mag

Junk_in_Trunk

Established Member
I am a resident of Florida but I live in California b/c I go to school here. I am continually blown away at how great and horrible this state is (for things like guns/cars/ i.e fun). I have set my mind on a long gun. I would like to own a hand gun someday but I think for now I'd have more fun with a rifle or shotgun. I like the M1A b/c of the round size and its durability.

9A Pilot

durability tester
Established Member
A good M1A or SOCOM II is $1400..I'm in the market for one myself.