Vortech supercharger.

ChromeSnake98

Established Member
Hey guys. I'm possibly buying a blower for my car. It's a vortech v1 si. Does anyone have any pros/cons on this setup. I want a safe system. My car only has 40k. I just want to know a little about this blower seeing as how I'm kind of new to them and I don't really want to get in over my head or blow my car up. I'm a mechanic so. I'd be doing the install myself. The kit comes with the blower, bracket, intercooler, piping (minus BOV), coolant lines and crossover, oil feed and return lines. Any insight would be appreciated. Thanks guys

hitnrun

Established Member
I had a v1 on my Cobra (currently upgrading to a d1sc) and the only thing I wish I would have changed is getting a self contained super charger right off the bat. If you tap the oil pan, it can be a pain in the ass to change that if you go back n/a or a different route. You can plug the holes if done properly but that is still iffy. My blower was only putting out 5psi and it was ok, nothing extrodinary. I also HIGHLY reccomend not using their FMU or fuel pump. Get an SCT tuner (or similar product), bigger injectors (I have 42#s that I would sell you), and a bigger fuel pump (already done on your build) and call it a day.

What is your power goal (short and long term)?

ChromeSnake98

Established Member
That's helpful. My problem is I don't really know the difference between blowers. I wasn't aware this one wasn't self oiling so that's good to know. My power goals aren't crazy. I'm lookin for about 400-450 to the wheels. Like I said I'm looking for more of a safe build than crazy power.

SVTPete83

Established Member
I have a v-1 and it's maxed out. Im currently running 13 psi and making 520. It's a great head unit for a stock motor. I don't mind the oiling issue either. It just means my head unit gets fresh oil every 1500 miles or so.

ChromeSnake98

Established Member