Used Guitars?

NewKid

Aliens
Established Member
I've been wanting a guitar for awhile now but haven't had any funds for it, but now I'm starting to get some more expendable income in and am looking into them again. So, for you guitar nuts, just a few questions:

I'm a complete beginner, any type/brand that you would recommend?

What's the average price for a decent used guitar (as I am looking to go the cheap route for now)?

When looking at a used guitar, anything major I should be looking for?

Obviously I'm talking about some sort of acoustic guitar until an electric falls into my lap. I've been looking into it a bit, but would like to hear some opinions from the great minds of SVTP.

Thanks in advance. :rockon:

Oh, and for kicks, post yours up!

thomas91169

# of bans = 5203
Established Member
hell, i dunno what price range you are looking for, but i found a Yamaha electric (pretty much like a cheapie Fender) for $100 at GuitarCenter, brand new. Problem with an acoustic is if you live with others, they have to hear you learn how to play, and its usually a horrible experience. An electric that isnt hooked to an amp still makes sound by itself, you can play it as hard as you want, and unless someone is standing at your door, they wont be bothered by it.

Then once you get into it and figure out if you want to still pursue it, get a nice acoustic (i have an Epiphone) or hollow body electric (Ibanez Artcore for me) that sounds great both plugged in or not.

Alot of people go all out and realize they dont even like playing, and then waste their money. Its good you are doing it the right way.

Craigslist.com always has used instruments for uber cheap.

Last edited:

PureStang

Established Member
My first guitar was a Fender Stratocaster knock off. bought it and the amp for $125. best 125 invested lol.

my roommate has 2 really nice Ibanez electric guitars and 1 Dean Acoustic that i use.