Turbo build questions. I want your opinions.

04dreamcobra

When it runs, it's fast...
Established Member
I am nearing a crossroad with my currently Whipple charged 04 Cobra. I am wanting to put down at least 800 to the wheels but can't decide the path to go. I like the ideal of a turbo because it seems a bigger blower woud just be less fun to drive and since its a street car primarely I want it to be "practical".
I am tossing around either the 3.4 or 4.0 Whipple if I stay supercharged or single or twin turbo if I change to that. My question is what are the pros and cons of single or twins and driveability. It does make long trips once a year so I need it to be dependable but when I wanna go it should be ready for it. So what are your opinions? Im new to the turbo world so dont hold back. Thanks in advance. :beer:

static74

in the 9's
Established Member
This horse has been beaten numerous times. Search function ftw.

The most recent thread is here:
http://www.svtperformance.com/forums/blower-bistro-74/904352-twin-vs-single-turbo.html

Cliff notes:

Twin - quicker spool, lots more work and money, more to go wrong, 5lbs of crap in a 1 lb bag.

Single - the choice of many, easy(ier) to install and maintain, less to go wrong, more dependable, can make huge power just like twin. The right turbo will spool almost or just as quick as twin setups. Not to mention it is usually a cheaper setup.

Turbo cars are second half track cars, they make most of their power high mid to high rpm vs blowers being low to mid end, unless we are talking centri's.

Last edited:

04dreamcobra

Established Member
My search doesnt work for some reason... Thats why i made the thread. It always says i have to wait so much time before I search again. It says it on the first search. Thanks for some info though. Am I on the right page wit thinking the turbo will be less abusive to the engine than a big blower?

AntiHeightPunk

Established Member