Trying to size some turbos

Zoie_daGT

Established Member
I am making plans now to TT my 2vGT. At the moment, I am doing my research so I can do this project properly.

I am, however, having trouble sizing turbos for the car. I plan on forging the engine and keeping the stock displacement. I am also aiming for 8.5-9.0:1 compression. Ideally, this car will be a street car with good turbo response. I plan on keeping on low boost(450-500rwhp) consistently and turning it up on weekends, track, cruising, etc.

I have been leaning for Garrett turbos. I like the idea of some being ball bearing and I also may be able to buy the turbos very cheap through my job. We sell Honeywell and have access to their products. Garrett is part of Honeywell so I may be able to get a great deal on them. Does anyone have any suggestions for sizing the turbos? I have read Garrett's website. I learned a lot but, got confused too. I have some experience w/ juice but, not blowers or turbos.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

RussZTT

Established Member
Look into a set of 50mm turbos. Very good response (very low lag) but also make some great power.

RussZTT

Established Member
biggest i would go is 57mm turbos
Look how much power he is looking for. Pair of 50mm would be perfect for him. Still, these size turbos will give him little more power than he is looking for but still able to run mid to low 10s on the weekends.

Turbo04Mystichr

Established Member
i have a pair of 60mm's on my cobra. i like them cuz they make good power and spool rather quickly. i make full boost at close to 3,000 rpms. do you plan on doin single or twins?

Zoie_daGT

Established Member
I plan on going twins. I like the idea of each header feeding a turbo vs. routing everything together. I know there is a bunch of plumbing but, that doesnt worry me.

Zoie_daGT

Established Member