Tracking down a parasitic draw

Poisond281

Hiding in the shadows.
Established Member
Hey all,

I've watched a few videos on how to properly test for amperage draws in the fuse box, but I'm fairly certain the aftermarket alarm that came with the car is causing the issue. The car has eaten two batteries since I bought it, and I'd like to get the issue sorted. Are aftermarket alarm installations fairly similar for SN95s? Reason I ask is there a certain size fuse I should focus on first? Any potential impacts on removing said alarm from the car that I would need to take into consideration?

I'm no electrician by any stretch of the imagination so any help to narrow down the draw would be greatly appreciated.

MG0h3

Established Member
Could always just disconnect the alarm no?

But ya.

Disconnect the neg battery terminal.

Hook amp meter in series between cable end and neg batt terminal.

Under 250ma or 1/4 of an amp is usually ok.

Sent from my iPhone using svtperformance.com

Vinnie_B

"LIVE LIFE AT FULL THROTTLE"
Established Member
Premium Member
Hey all,

I've watched a few videos on how to properly test for amperage draws in the fuse box, but I'm fairly certain the aftermarket alarm that came with the car is causing the issue. The car has eaten two batteries since I bought it, and I'd like to get the issue sorted. Are aftermarket alarm installations fairly similar for SN95s? Reason I ask is there a certain size fuse I should focus on first? Any potential impacts on removing said alarm from the car that I would need to take into consideration?

I'm no electrician by any stretch of the imagination so any help to narrow down the draw would be greatly appreciated.
Find the name/info of the aftermarket alarm on the controller under your dash. Than get install instructions off internet to disconnect it. Take an amp reading before and after to see the draw difference. Keep us updated.

L-Bronco

Established Member
Hey all,