Total Newbie Question - Tranny Fluid

EnglishAdam

Established Member

Don't want to be an ass but there is no Mercon 3. Only Mercon or Mercon 5.
Mercon is the same spec as Dexron 3 which I have used for 20k with no problems.
Ford now says that we can use Mercon 5 after years of this being a big no no.

Use Mercon or Dexron 3.

bgstew6

ResFirma Mitescere Nescit
Established Member
Yup good old rot gut Merc/DexIII get it at a good price at NAPA................

cpsmith10

Established Member
I have asked this question time and time again because I constantly got different answers on the subject and after it all hearing from the best, cheap old regular MERCON is the only way to go with our transmissions. Alot of the synthetic transmission fluids are too slippery and will cause our transmissions to slip.

Robert Francis

Established Member
If you do a "search" in here, you'll find guys used many different "brands" of trans fluid - personally I used Valvoline - with no problems. And a lot of guys specificially got the cheapest Walmarts they could get - and don't seem to be suffering any ill effects from using. Although many have their personal preferences, it just doesn't seem to make any real difference what brand you get.

Although most will stick with and recommend Mercon III - you'll find guys who are using Mercon V - and don't seem to eb suffering any ill effects.

Blk04L

. . .
Established Member
Premium Member
you'll find guys who are using Mercon V - and don't seem to eb suffering any ill effects.

+1

We use Mercon V for all our vehicles with the 4r100 transmission and have had no problems with the transmissions. (100k+)

Last edited:

Robert Francis

Established Member