To stay at home or move out?

16kOrBust

Established Member
This will probably be long because I want you to have all the facts (just a heads up).

The Job Situation

I have a potential job offer coming up from the company I currently work at part-time and it could be one of those "life-changing" events for me. I'm 26 years old and have worked here full-time since I graduated college in 2006 until the beginning of 2010. I was just an assistant to the president making a "barely get by" paycheck while I spent my other time working on music opportunities (what I went to school for), but I was constantly taking on project after project that really had nothing to do with my position. I showed a high level of flexibility, a quick learning curve, and took a lot of pride in the quality of work I gave to the company, so even though I recently cut to part-time to pursue some other interests, they have basically asked if I'd be interested in a full-time, career-oriented position.

I don't have all the details yet (we're having a meeting tomorrow to discuss), but I made it clear to them that if I were to take on a position like this in a company like this, it would have to be for my long-term financial stability (retirement income/savings, comfortable living, etc). They agreed and I do know that the position will include full benefits (excellent benefits at this company) and a profit sharing plan that I've already been on for the past few years since I was initially full-time.

The Home Situation

I currently live at home in my parent's large house with two of my brothers where we all pay cheap rent. My parents split their year between here in CT and Florida where they have a place, so for 6-7 months out of the year, I basically rent a huge house with my two younger brothers. Three car garage, basement for my bike, huge yard and driveway, set far back from the road in a small town right next to a park. It's very nice and the cheap rent makes it very hard to give up.