Thoughts!

sshfty1

Established Member
Good mornin everyone I rarely post but when I do it's lengthy so I recently purchased a used Boss 302 less than 2000 miles I now have 4500 on the car and love it. "EXCEPT" for these below items that I was hoping you all could expell upon.

1. Traction = THERE AIN'T NONE... This thing don't hook up til alomst midway threw the r's in 3rd gear, now I know that's cool and all but I would like to go forward faster not sideways for blocks.

2. The doomed engine tick = Ya I got it too, it seems to go away after the car warms for awhile but still drives me batty. Seems to be between that 1500 and 3000 rpm range, but it looks like thats normal or so some say.

3. OIL CONSUMPTION = WTF where do 6qts of oil go. Please someone tell me if it is o.k to run your car 6qts low? Now I am a mechanic so of course I realize that, that is not O.K. but the dealer seems to think that once we topped the car off and drove away with no problems that all should be fine. In your opinions is this possible?

4. Performance now this isn't my first hot rod so I have some prior cars to compare my seat of the pant's experience with however for those who have had a terminator or shelby etc. does this car feel totally different in the way it pulls almost like its got a high and a low gear in each gear? Like the car comes on slow and lathargic then bang like a gun it goes off?

Other than that great car still think I would love to have my 04 mystic back but thats a story for another day.

Thanks all.:burnout:

Last edited:

Jebadias

Established Member
I will answer what I can.

Traction- try adjusting you suspension. Lower numbers make for softer suspension. Also what temperature is it where you are? My car hooks great in the summer on softer settings but higher settings hurt takeoff traction. The stock tires will not hook in cold weather at all.

Tick/oil - I do not have either of these issues so I am not much help here.