Thoughts on Copper Plugs?

BlackCobra96

Considering my mods and the fact that wear isn't an issue since it only sees a couple thousand of miles per season, I thought I'd try them. Also, what gap for my setup? And How many miles before I change them?

Last edited by a moderator:

nckissfan

Nevermore
Established Member
I have been running coppers in my car for going on two years now. I can't remember the gap setting. The people at the Ford dealer look at me like I am retarded when I tell them that I am running coppers. They say, well your car will not run to its full potential. :bs:

Quadcammer

4cams aren't better then1
Established Member
don't know what kinda boost you are running, but i would run the motorcraft awsfa-22c plugs with a .035 gap.

fwiw, i run coppers and they work great.

SVTRob

www.Stangology.com
Established Member
I would always run a copper plug. I currently run the NGK TR6, which is a copper plug one step colder than stock. Gap them as big as you can without it miss-firing.

SVTCobra306

Established Member
The way I look at it is this: the fancy-twice-as-expensive-or-more platinum/irridium plugs are simply designed to last longer between tune-ups. I personally pull my plugs every six months. Now I could either clean them and re-gap them, and put the old plugs back in, OR I could spend the measly 10 bucks and slap a fresh set of Autolites in.... I'll spend my 10 bucks. Plus nitrous motors are known to occasionally eat a plug, so why waste the money on Irridium? Plat. is out of the picture for me, it doesn't play well with nitrous.

Mhissticobra

Established Member
I run copper gapped around .033 on my blown setup. BTW, how do you like Lidio's tuning? I will be getting my car retuned by him this Friday. I had it tuned somewhere else last year but going to him for the retune.

Shambles

Fetch the COMFY CHAIR!
Established Member
Coppers straight from Ford for me, gapped at .055 for my N/A engine.