Thoughts about joining

Mustang71

Did I say that out loud?
Established Member
goodluck man! i decided this year to join the army and im 26. my career was going nowhere i was a mechanic at dealerships and i hated it. got laid off in jan. and that was the final blow for me, i go to take my physical and sign my contract on weds for Army MP. i know EOD and combat engineer jobs are both open right now as i saw they had openings on the computer. EOD is one of the few giving enlistment bonuses to.

im so glad im doing it though i finally feel like i have a direction in life. i dont leave until febuary for BCT but at least i know something is comming. im gonna finish my assoc. degree while im active duty since they pay for it. then go for my BA after i get out in 5 years probably.

good luck to you. Maybe see you around someday soon

03cobrah

Established Member
Sounds like your exactly what the Marines are looking for. Your heart is in the right place, and your bored with life. You want to serve you country, and while you aren't all too concerned about what you'll get out of it, if you do it right you can reap a world of benefits.

I'm a third generation US Marine, after my father and my grandfather. It was the best thing I've ever done. You could go into the Army or Air Force, but years back when you look back at it you'll consider it "just a job". Army or Air Force is something you do, but being a Marine is something you are - for life.

i think you just made chesty puller shed a tear.

FX4 SAPPER

Established Member
You could go into the Army or Air Force, but years back when you look back at it you'll consider it "just a job". Army or Air Force is something you do, but being a Marine is something you are - for life.
:lol: :rollseyes

Yeah. If it wasnt anything more than a job to you then why didnt you retire from it?