This article made me paranoid

Juxtapositron

Established Member
Warning !! Before you change that tune read this!

Should I be as concerned as this guy seems to think I should be? I'm throwing some longtubes on my gt500 tomorrow and I'm going to need a tune afterwards, so I was doing some research when I stumbled upon this article.

I'm really a newbie when it comes to tuning... and by newbie I mean I have as little knowledge as possible, aside from a conceptual understanding. Can someone give me the basics so that I'm not longer worried about my motor blowing up? Any info would be appreciated. Obviously, I'm going to have this professionally done but I'm concerned that my lack of knowledge will bite me in the ass.

-Jux

Last edited:

01yellercobra

Established Member
I wouldn't worry. When the people that design the tuning software (SCT, Diablosport, etc.) teach classes showing how to adjust the MAF curve I think you're ok.

And it's not like you can put a MAF on a flow bench and then expect it to act the exact same way once on a motor. Everything is going to need to be adjusted.

encasedmetal

WHINO!
Established Member
what the author of the article left out- is that when adjusting the maf transfer function, you also adjust according injector slope- etc, and all the other stuff that is associated with the MAF. a good example of this are the issues that most 4v cobra owners have with the SCT software, in that there is a hard count limit, and so a ratio of .47 must be multiplied against a ton of values in the tune. I did a write up for myseld with this problem-
The 63.9 #/min problem or finding the limit on a #mass/tic car: You have a high HP car and cannot keep it from going lean at WOT. You do not need to extend the 5v limit of the EEC but rather allow higher airflow within that limit. You need to determine a correction factor.