Thinking about the reserves...

nhancedsvt

Established Member
So I've been thinking a lot lately about joining the air force reserves and i know a lot of you on here are military so maybe you could help me with some questions i have. first off i am a full time student and i would mainly be doing it for financial reasons (GI bill, paid weekend etc.). also i am getting married and will need good health insurance for my fiance. there's the practical reasons, i would also like to do it because in a way i would really like to give back to my country. i don't like the idea of deploying but i feel as if anything i do is better than nothing. plus it gives me the feeling that i am doing something to protect my family even if i am not deployed. so here's a few questions (i'm sure there will beplenty more). thanks for any help!!!

1. would you recommend it in my situation? why/why not?
2. how does the GI bill work? and how much does that typically pay?
3. are there any type of signing bonuses? if so how much?
4. since i am a student i like for my schedule to be semi-flexible. do i decide what weekend to work? also can i decide when to do basic/training?
5. how long does basic/training take since i will have to do this probably over summer break?
6. do i decide where my home base is?
7. what are my chances of being deployed?
8. i am currently a pharmacy tech and in nursing school. could i get a job in either of these fields? or what other jobs would you recommend?
9. i guess anything else you want to add...

thanks for any help guys!:banana: i just wanted to try to get some straightforward answers before i talked to a recruiter so that i could semi-know what i'm talking about.

Last edited:

Bowhuntr11

I am a semi-n00b now..
Established Member
I am in the AF reserves...and can answer most your questions.

I am on my phone right now in bed so I will tell ya tomorrow lol

Silver2003Cobra

US Navy (retired)
Established Member