thinking about joining the navy

mustangkid05

Established Member
well i graduated last year, and for the past year i've been just hanging out and working at my part-time job, so i am thinking of joining the navy, to give me a little direction in my life. So my buddy brought up the idea that we should join, is there a buddy system in the navy? and if i was to sign up for 4 years, how much time do i get to spend home, like to go home and visit? also i heard the pay isn't that great but thats not why i would sign up, so how much does an elistment make? oh and how does going to college during the navy work?
thanks

9A Pilot

durability tester
Established Member
Alot of the ppl I know in the Nav are from PA..So you'll have plenty of company.
The first hurdle is seeing what you're qualified for...& if your going to do the "buddy program",obviously your boy will need to do the same...To me the "buddy" program is kind of a gimmick & you can only resonably expect to just go to recruit training together..The longer you & he are in,the harder it would be for you to stay in together..I've seen people do it well through their first tours..But it's more just luck.As time goes on, having your 'buddy" with you will become less & less important anyway.
Aver the couse of four years, you would earn 120 days of leave..Your ability to take leave will be determined by operational commitments...But you get 30 days per year.
We are increasingly better paid at all paygrades since I first came in..Our standard of living continues to get better in both pay & benifits,as well as the facilities such as barracks,etc...as you get more senior & move out in town,that'll be less of an issue anyway...
College is very doable on active duty & is highly encouraged.

WHITESVTCOBRA

Established Member
well technically yes you are on call for the rest of your life, but you go into inactive reserve's after your 4 active if they are anything like the army.

03RedCobra

Established Member