Thinking about going into the NAVY.

burnzilla

Established Member
-

n1.jpg

Well, I have an Associates Degree and I alot of work experience, but in my necks of the woods things are kind of slow.

I want to travel and see the world, and sample careers, but I also love spending time with my friends/family.
Anyone here in the US NAVY or know someone that is?

Any info, comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Im 24 btw.

Last edited:

SickBlackMach

Throttling back
Established Member
I'm not Navy... I'm USAF but...

One choice people over look are the National Guard and Reserves... That allows people to serve and still stay near their homes. Depending on the career field, you could get activated or volunteer for deployments with your unit.

Just keep in mind... If you choose active duty... sure, you'll leave friends and family behind but, You'll make new friends and join another type of family.

I, for one, don't mind being far from my family. Been on a couple deployments and made some really great friends along the way. I go home on leave when I can.

Good luck with your choice, and if you have any more questions... ask away!

Dusten

Established Member
i work at meps, have 9 years active duty navy, pm with any enlistment type questions, and things of that nature. i can give you a straight scoop before you talk to a recruiter.

moddestmike

2 Degrees/Still Confused
Established Member
If you can do another 2 years of school I'd suggest finishing a Bachelors and enlisting as an Officer. We are the same age and that's what I had planned to do and still may do after I finish my second degree. Still up in the air for me.

burnzilla

Established Member
If you can do another 2 years of school I'd suggest finishing a Bachelors and enlisting as an Officer. We are the same age and that's what I had planned to do and still may do after I finish my second degree. Still up in the air for me.

I don't think you can enlist as an officer.
Although I am not sure.