Thinking About Doing a Double Major

coolguy10786

Established Member
Right now I have about a year left until I finish my MET degree at EWU. It looks like that if I stay for additional 2-2.5 years(depending on if i take summer classes) I would be able to pick up an EE degree too.

My question is what kind of jobs would this open up for me? Would it be worth it over just getting the MET? So far I'm pretty set on doing it, but would like some opinions of those who have done it and/or work in the field.

Thanks!

CalcVictim

Resident douchenozzle
Established Member
I am not sure what's an MET but I double majored in EE/CE. I graduated last may and started working in June as a CE(testing) for 57k a year, now a year later I make a little over 60k.

your milleage may vary depending on location and experience, I had 18 months of work experience upon graduation.

HYBRED

That Just Happened
Established Member
Wow, that's it for a double major? My friends are all graduating with a single in ME and making around 60k starting. Doesn't look worth it to me...:shrug:

CalcVictim

Resident douchenozzle
Established Member
Wow, that's it for a double major? My friends are all graduating with a single in ME and making around 60k starting. Doesn't look worth it to me...:shrug:
It depends on a lot of things, some geographical locations have more jobs and more demand. One of the keys is that with a double major you qualify for a much bigger variety of jobs.

I agree the salary is nothing to brag about.

97WHITEVENOM

Established Member
Right now I have about a year left until I finish my MET degree at EWU. It looks like that if I stay for additional 2-2.5 years(depending on if i take summer classes) I would be able to pick up an EE degree too.

My question is what kind of jobs would this open up for me? Would it be worth it over just getting the MET? So far I'm pretty set on doing it, but would like some opinions of those who have done it and/or work in the field.

Thanks!