Test drove the 2011 GT 5.0 AUTO

Ry_Trapp0

Condom Model
Established Member
christ guys, just wait till the tuners get ahold of them. there will be firmer shifting tunes galore! just like every other electronic auto.
I think it uses a wet clutch like a AMG benz?
nope, it's the 6R60 that's been used in fords pickups and SUVs for the past few years. AFAIK, the automated dual clutch transmissions are only for the FWDs(and front based AWDs), though i believe ford has a longitudinal dual clutch on the way.

metaman

Established Member
I would totally want the auto. I have been driving a 6 speed 03 cobra for six years. I guess I am getting old or something. I just want to get in my car and be lazy now.

Driver72

Established Member
i'll take the auto over a stick anyday!nothing a good converter can't fix!

Except doing your own shifting, holding gears at redline if you desire, skip shifting like going from 6th to 3rd, or from 2nd to 5th, drifiting a corner while holding rpms at around 4000, clutch slipping 1st while going 20 mph to light up the rear tires for some burnout fun.
Auto can be fun, no doubt, but they need AT LEAST the ability to column shift (or better yet paddle shift) and need a sport mode to hold gears all the way up to redline so they won't "automatically" up or down shift when you DON'T want them too. The 11 Mustang GT has none of that, and a converter does not fix that either.
Best of both is a top notch Dual Clutch, but you still give up the ability (and to many additional fun of having to shift yourself and have that added control and involvement with your car.)

Kn38ms

Glockaholic...
Established Member
IIRC the only manual gear access for the auto is 1, 2, 3, and D...

Me thinks a paddle may be offered next year.
Maybe Ford had no time to R&D a paddle the first year.
Keep in mind the 1st year C6 had a 4 speed auto console shift.
The following year he 5 speed paddle was in there.
Ford needed to get in the game quick with 5.0.