T56 problems, Please help!

SonicBeast

Established Member
T56 problems! Need help!

So I bought my car in January 2012 and it has been great. After a few weeks I noticed the clutch squeaking and shaking the rear end wheni started off in 1st. Only happened occasionally but it was annoying. I read other guys were having the same problem with the spec stage 3 clutch. Well on the 4th of July I gave her prolly 3/4 throttle in 1st and went to shift to second and it was stuck in 1st. By the time I stopped I had gotten it out but since then it's been terribly hard to get into and out of every gear. I'm thinking its the clutch because its not one specific gear like a bad synchro or shift fork would be. So I pulled the Trans. When I went to unbolt it I noticed it didn't have a cover over the clutch fork and cable assembly like the guy in the "how to" I used had on his car. Also the clutch cable is loose and has a lot of play in it. I have no idea if thats normal simce this is my first time pulling a trans. I took some pics that ill add when I get home to my laptop. Do you guys agree it is probably a bad clutch? Or could it have to do with a loose clutch cable. Throw out bearing possibly? Looks ok except the thin ring on the backside is bent a little but that could be from me taking it off. Any help would be appreciated. I only get 6 months a year to drive her so I wanna get her on the road again

SonicBeast

Established Member